Devotion beyond cast and creed

“The mercy of the Supreme Personality of Godhead is not restricted to the jurisdiction of caste and creed. Vidura was a śūdra, yet Kṛṣṇa accepted lunch at his home.Lord Kṛṣṇa’s mercy is dependent only on affection. Being obliged only by affection, Lord Kṛṣṇa acts very independently.” Lord Śrī Kṛṣṇa, the Supreme Personality of Godhead, is […]

What is Prahararaja ?

Prahararāja is a designation given to brāhmaṇas who represent the king when the throne is vacant. In Orissa, between the time of a king’s death and the enthronement of another king, a representative must sit on the throne. This representative is called Prahararāja. The Prahararāja is generally selected from a family of priests close to […]

Meaning of Dasa

In Orissa most of the brāhmaṇas have the title Dāsa. Generally it is understood that the word dāsa refers to those other than the brāhmaṇas, but in Orissa the brāhmaṇas use the Dāsa title. This is confirmed by Culli Bhaṭṭa. Actually, everyone is dāsa because everyone is a servant of the Supreme Personality of Godhead. […]

Indian caste system

In the Padma Purāṇa it is said: na śūdrāḥ bhagavad-bhaktās te ‘pi bhāgavatottamāḥ sarva-varṇeṣu te śūdrā ye na bhaktā janārdane One who is actually advanced in spiritual knowledge of Kṛṣṇa is never a śūdra, even though he may have been born in a śūdra family. However, even if a vipra, or brāhmaṇa, is very expert […]

Who is Once-Born and Twice-Born ?

The higher classes of vedic society are called dvija, twice-born because there is one birth by parental conjugation and there is another birth of cultural rejuvenation by spiritual initiation from the bona fide acarya, or spiritual master. The administrative class of people are also twice-born like a priestly class, and their duty is to give […]


  There are seven mothers according to Vedic civilization: Real mother, from whose womb we have come to this world, real mother, atma-mata. Then guroh patni, wife of the teacher or spiritual master, guroh patni. Brahmani, the wife of a brahmana. Atma-mata guroh patni the wife of the king, or the queen. She’s also mother. Dhenu- […]


There are four types of Celibates-brahmacharis. The first is called savitra, which refers to a celibate-brahmachari who, after initiation and the sacred thread ceremony, must observe at least three days of celibacy. The next is called prajapatya, which refers to a celibate-brahmachari who strictly observes celibacy for at least one year after initiation. The next […]


There is a very nice instructive story from Bhagavata. There was a very famous prostitute. Her fee was, one hundred thousands of diamond pieces. Diamonds you can understand. One diamond piece is at least five hundred dollars. So she used to charge, “If somebody wants to visit my house, then he must pay one hundred […]